How To Print Directly To Your Planner Page

How To Print Directly To Your Planner Page

Last week I shared with you my very first Happy Planner spread. I used one of the many free printables you can find online, printed on regular printer paper, cut out and pasted by hand.

 

Then I came across I tutorial on how to print directly onto your Happy Planner page! Check it out HERE. I love this! I didn’t use everything I printed the first time. And sometimes you want more of one type of box than they put. So being able to do all the cutting and pasting on the computer was right up my alley. Unfortunately, the tutorial was a bit outdated and I had a hard time going through the Silhouette Studio software. So I’m going to show you a couple of updated steps that the first tutorial is out of date on.

Tried of printing free stickers only to use half of them? This tutorial on How To Print To Your Planner page is just what you're looking for!!

First, if you didn’t click on the original tutorial already, you’ll want to download the software. It is designed to be used with a Silhouette Camio, but the software is free and doesn’t actually require the cutter. I do recommend hopping over to Planner Squad for most of the tutorial, also they have a lot of good content! You will have to sign up for emails to access the free printables for this tutorial. If you don’t want to do this, you can check out Happy Planner Free Printables To Share on Facebook. Anyway, here is the link to download silhouette software. I chose the basic edition to get started.

Once you have the software installed and open, your page should look like this.

SS 1

You can adjust the size of your page on the right and there are a lot of useful tools at the top right. I’ll go over some of them later but if you hover over them, you can see what they all do.

Once you get your template open, if you are wanting to use Planner Squad watercolor elements, this is where the original tutorial is a little outdated. I looked forever for the option to import to library. Here’s where it is now:

ss3

You’ll be able to import the watercolor elements (one at a time) to Silhouette. Then they will be available to merge with your template. You can do this by opening the library (see image below), right clicking on an element, and selecting merge.

ss9

I ended up doing something a little bit different though. I found another printable that I wanted to use on one of the facebook pages. (I tried to find a way to link to this free printable but it doesn’t look like the owner has a site. Check out the facebook page above and search for “The Pink Fury Printables”.) This is where the trace tool comes in handy. Click on the trace tool (which looks like a blue butterfly with yellow outline) and it pulls up the trace toolbar. Click “Select Trace Area” and select an area to trace. Here I chose to trace the whole page. When you have the area selected, deselect High Pass Filter and increase the threshold to almost 100%. You’ll have to use your own judgement on this one because if you set it too high, you will just have a solid page instead of individual elements.

ss4

After you set the threshold it will look like this. Notice the yellow is only over the elements. Now select trace and detach. This step usually takes a little bit to process.

ss5

Now they are all detached and ready to copy into your planner template.

ss6

Once you paste the elements onto the template, you may notice they aren’t exactly the same size and overlap slightly. The measurements for the full boxes is W 1.5 H 2.25 and the header boxes are W 1.5 H .25 . Open the scale tool to adjust.

ss7

Another feature I love is Align. Use the align center option to make sure the header lines up perfectly with the boxes.

ss8

Now you have the freedom to use as many or as little elements from a printable as you choose. And when you really start getting into it, you can start making your own elements!

My finished second week.

IMG_20160607_104359269

At this point, I still hadn’t received my planner so I hung it up on the fridge. The Happy Planner’s don’t start until July anyway so I just printed it out on regular paper like the week before. I used elements from many different places as well as ones I created myself. Plus everything fits perfectly and I don’t have to cut everything out by hand.

Here are a few planner facebook groups to check out:

Happy Planner Free Printables to Share

Happy Planners Society

Free Planner Printables For All

HAPPY PLANNER WITH SCRAPBOOK PAPER

Monica’s Marvelous Printables

5 thoughts on “How To Print Directly To Your Planner Page

  1. Thank you so much for this tutorial! I have one question though, I am currently trying to add some full boxes that have writing on them, as well has checklist banners that have the little dots on them. Is there away to be able to move the whole banner dots and all in one go? Or the full box words and all? I am having trouble lining the dots and words back up, and I know that will drive me nuts when its in my planner like that. I followed what you said above and everything else is perfect, I am just struggling with that one little detail. Thank you!

    Like

    1. Hi! So glad you enjoyed the tutorial! It sounds like you just need to select all the elements and group them together. Just right click after you have them all selected, group will be toward the middle of the pop up menu. Please let me know if you have any more questions!!

      Like

  2. This is the best explanation of this tutorial I have seen. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this out (with examples) and sharing. Some of the shortcuts you shared are WONDERFUL to us “newbies”. Thanks again!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

